Interview of KL Shandwick

Hi, thank you for stopping by In The Pages of a Good Book,  KL Shandwick. Could you let us know a little about yourself, your writing and your books.

My real life background isn’t in writing at all, it’s more about supporting people who have had difficulties or traumatic events in their lives. I bring some of that to the content so although my books are fiction, I do concentrate on the human side of relationships even if I am writing about rock stars.

Music touches people and I quote song titles or lyrics in my scenes to accentuate the emotions the characters are feeling or a line from a song to emphasize a point. I also post playlists for the songs so that the reader can listen to the song when they are reading if that’s what they choose to do.

 

What inspired you to write <Gibson’s Legacy>?

Gibson’s Legacy was easy to name. I have a Gibson guitar that is about fifteen years old. *The one on the cover. Gibson is a good strong name and as the series is about a strong ‘alpha male’ rock star, Gibson Barclay just came to me. There is something about how he got his name in the story as well. As Orville Gibson, the guitar maker was an genius, and gave pleasure to millions of guitar players I wanted to pay homage to him as well.

 

What was your favorite scene in <Gibson’s Legacy>? And why?

I don’t think I had a favorite scene, you would be better to ask the readers about that. For me, my favorite thing was trying to portray Chloe’s reservations and judgement of Gibson and letting his vulnerabilities show without him losing his ‘bad-boy alpha male image throughout the book, I think I managed that, but I would be interested to see what the readers thought.

 

Could tell us what type of writer are you? Pantser or Planner?

Definitely not a planner. I have no idea what I am going to write from one day to the next. The characters kind of take over and I just write what they tell me. I know that sounds a bit crazy, but that’s how it is. I never keep notebooks or lists the storyline is all in my head and I just seem to keep tying in critical points as and when. It is weird how the character seems to remember something from earlier in the story for me to pull into the mix. So, I guess I am a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants type in this respect.

 

Any advice would you share to other writers or new writers?

Writers—stay humble. You are only as good as the readers who support you. Don’t stop interacting, getting feedback is important.

Respect your fellow authors, we shouldn’t only focus on our own work. We need books to read too.

Support each other when you can. It is nothing to share another author’s work on your page and your readers need more than  one book to read as well. 

Read and review other authors work.

New Authors—finish your book first. Coming into the world of social media is a whirlwind. It takes a lot of effort to promote your books and network with bloggers and readers. Each new thing you learn gives you at least three chores. An example. Speak to a blogger who is willing to showcase, could mean putting together a press pack, maybe making teasers and organizing a giveaway or a takeover. Then if you have swag, you have to post it. Do you have time to do all that and still write? And that’s just one blogger!! 

Copywrite your work, learn my interacting with other authors and readers.

Learn how to market and join book groups to improve your knowledge of ‘the virtual bookworld’.

Seek advice or observe good practices on social media.

Think before you post social media can be viral in minutes.

 

Do you have any recommended websites that are helpful for authors and if so what are they?

www.ebookstage.com and www.indieauthornews.com are two promotion sites. 

www.kindlemojo.com

Is there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with? If so what is it?

I’d never say never, but there were a couple of characters in the ‘Everything’ Trilogy that had potential to have a book of their own, but I have resisted calls for Jack’s story. My arm is being twisted for a novella there, he’s a funny character. 

 

Out of curiosity. What type of environment do you feel more comfortable writing in? Do you use a pen and paper, laptop? Quiet room, music or what? Dog at their feet? Cat on the desk?

Bed, music, dark room, late at night…that’s my favorite focusing place, but that isn’t practical all the time when you are a family person. So sometimes my favorite place is where I can just access my laptop and music.

Pen Names vs Real name. The pros and cons… Which one do you use?

I use a pen name. Trust me. It’s more exciting than mine! Apart from that with the work I do I prefer to keep my book world entirely separate. The cons are that people have no first name to call me but even when people that have found me through social media and have become friends, they still call me KL even when they know my real name.

 

Would you like to share anything additional?

Gibson’s Legacy is book 1 of the Last Score series. Book 2 is coming in the spring. Gibson and Chloe’s journey continues. 

 

Thank you <KL Shandwick> for stopping it was real pleasure meeting you.

★★★New Release★★★

Gibson's Legacy Book Cover

Title: Gibson’s Legacy

Author: K.L. Shandwick

Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Date of Publication: December 19, 2014

Add to Goodreads TBR Here

Join Gibson’s Legacy Release Day Event on Facebook Here

About Gibson’s Legacy

Gibson Barclay has been famous for almost seven years and he’s only twenty four.

Seldom does anyone pick up a magazine, newspaper or watch a television entertainment show, without seeing his image or reading about his promiscuous antics. He had no need to court publicity with his magnetic charm and charismatic ways; when he chooses to cooperate that is. Shrugging off the advice of publicists and image consultants, Gibson makes no excuses for who he is, and with no ties, he answers to no one about how he chooses to live his life.

From teenage musician to twenties mega rock star, Gibson has seen and done it all. Women fantasize about him and men envy his rock scene, womanizing lifestyle. Only one person ever made Gibson feel uncomfortable about the way he lived his life. No one ever said no to him that he can remember, although there was two minute events that he has never been able to shake from his mind. Both of those events involved the way Chloe Jenner looked at him. It was something and nothing, but for him, the impact haunted him. In the strangest twist of fate, something so wildly obscure occurred, that set his mind ablaze with the memory of that small encounter.

Like all women, Chloe found Gibson striking and had even shared with friends, her own guilty fantasy about him. Fantasy and reality were poles apart and Chloe believed that Gibson Barclay never even knew that she existed.

*Adult Contemporary Romance – Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not suitable for readers under the age of eighteen.*

10836347_1514530985470340_1359822259_n

Buy Links

Gibson’s Legacy Amazon US | Gibson’s Legacy Amazon UK

Gibson’s Legacy Amazon CA | Gibson’s Legacy Amazon AU

Excerpt

Hands invaded my body space and ran up and across my pectorals, my head dropping to see what she was doing. She glided her palms around and under my arms, until they stopped on both scapula bones on my back.
Stroking me, she smiled suggestively and continued to trail downwards toward my ass, and by the time I made eye contact with her, she was so close her hot panting breaths were fanning over my face.
Groupies had no shame. Then again, I was so fucking wired after the gig, I needed something to bring me down, and an easy fuck meant I didn’t have to be charming or polite to anyone. This girl knew the score and she was begging for it.

©2014 K.L. Shandwick – ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

10841134_1514531078803664_1690652871_n

Connect with K.L. Shandwick

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Spotify

Amazon | Goodreads

About the Author

K.L. Shandwick lives on the outskirts of London. She started writing after a challenge by a friend when she commented on a book she read. The result of this was “The Everything Trilogy.” Her background has been mainly in the health and social care sector in the U.K. She is still currently a freelance or self- employed professional in this field. Her books tend to focus on the relationships of the main characters. Writing is a form of escapism for her and she is just as excited to find out where her characters take her as she is when she reads another author’s work.

For more details, please visit K.L. Shandwick’s website.

