Faith Hunter’s ninth Jane Yellowrock novel DARK HEIR

CoverBlurb:
Shapeshifting skinwalker Jane Yellowrock is the best in the business when it comes to slaying vampires. But her latest fanged foe may be above her pay grade…For centuries, the extremely powerful and ruthless vampire witches of the European Council have wandered the Earth, controlling governments, fostering war, creating political conflict, and often leaving absolute destruction in their wake. One of the strongest of them is set to create some havoc in the city of New Orleans, and it’s definitely personal.

Jane is tasked with tracking him down. With the help of a tech wiz and an ex-Army ranger, her partners in Yellowrock Securities, she’ll have to put everything on the line, and hope it’s enough. Things are about to get real hard in the Big Easy.

FaithHunter5SmallAbout Faith Hunter:

New York Times Bestselling author Faith Hunter writes fantasy in several subgenres: the urban fantasy Skinwalker series, featuring Jane Yellowrock, a Cherokee skinwalker; the post-apocalyptic Rogue Mage series and RPG, featuring Thorn St. Croix, a stone mage; and the upcoming SoulWood trilogy featuring Nell Nicholson Ingram, a woman who can siphon off the magic of others and is drawn into solving paranormal crimes. Faith writes mystery and thrillers under the name Gwen Hunter. When she isn’t writing, Faith likes to make jewelry, run whitewater rivers (Class II and III), and RV with her hubby and their rescued dogs.

Faith is online –
Header
Guest Post & excerpt
A Day in the Week of Faith Hunter: THURSDAY

Today is Massage Day. Maybe you noticed I am back to using the caps on the day’s description? It’s because I LOVE Massage Day! I have determined that I will not get stiff and ruined by sitting still every day, so I have a massage as often as I can. 

I get up, do business emails—lots of little things about the Nell book. Oh! Wait. You did know that I am starting a new series, yes? Not to replace Jane Yellowrock, but to add to it. A spinoff with a character you read about in the short story Off The Grid. Nell Nicholson Ingram lives in the Jane/Beast-iverse, but like Jane, she is a one-off, a character who knows of no others like her, but has a magical gift, ability, or energy. It’s pretty cool, actually. The series is called the Soulwood series, and the first novel, BLOOD OF THE EARTH will be out in October 2015. There is a lot less overt action and violence in the Soulwood series, but it’s also a lot deeper, darker, and twisted. I adore Nell. She is a nice break from Jane, is lot more complicated emotionally than Jane and her world—while technically Jane’s universe—is also different simply because Nell grew up in a cult, from which she is now free. But cults can make you look at the world in odd ways, develop odd fears, and live with survival and safety always in the forefront of your brain. Like I said. She is an interesting character.

Anyway. Back to the massage. Which is FAB! I get off the table feeling energized and relaxed and loose and ready to write, but first is lunch with mom. We go to a local deli-type lunch place and we sit and eat salads and talk for nearly two hours. Mom is an artist and currently she is painting a chicken for my kitchen wall, over the movable, wheeled, island. Chickens are mom’s favorite animals to paint, except for the mountain lion in my parlor. Can you guess why she liked that one?  

Back home, I write, taking breaks to fold the clothes that I washed on Monday. And I didn’t finish the bathrooms yesterday so I add that in. 

It’s a productive day, and I get about 2K words done on book 10 in the Jane Yellowrock series. So far no fighting in the first chapter, which is strange for a Jane book. I may have to move things around to get the juices flowing, but I’ll wait until I get to about page 25 before I do that. So loving either. Hmmm… I need to add in a Bruiser phone call or something. Oh! I know! Bruiser can be the one to tell Jane that the dead-but-undead vamp is back! Perfect!

Thursdays is Big Bang Theory night. I love all the guys and gals and watch it religiously. So cool! It’s CBS straight through tonight, and I watch three hours straight, while I do other stuff too—eat supper, check emails. Tonight, I notice that an ambulance is in the middle of the street. My neighbor across the way is elderly and lives alone. I take a break to go over and see that she is okay. She isn’t. I help another neighbor take care of her dog and we share phone numbers, and my neighbor heads to the emergency room. It will be four days before she is back, her dog goes to my boarder, and we lock up the house.

After TV night, I hit the sack, still feeling good from the massage, and happy knowing that my neighbor isn’t in the floor calling for help and not able to get up!  

Nite!

Dark Heir excerpt #10

In the kitchen, I strapped on the tactical thigh rig and adjusted its holsters for weapons, and this time, for maximum effect, I strung the M4’s harness on too. I accepted the weapons as Eli handed them to me, checking the loads on the semiautomatic handguns, making sure there were no rounds in the chambers as they went into holsters. Then I slid the blades and the stakes into the specially made sheathes in the thigh rig and in the leathers. And the boots. And my braided hair that I had wrapped into a big bun.

“How about this one?” Eli asked. He was holding a gift from Bruiser, an antique Mughal Empire blade Bruiser had given me when he declared his intentions to take our relationship to the next level.

“A little too fancy?” I asked.

“Good PR for the media should someone notice it and ask,” Eli said, which could have been unusual thinking for the shooter, except that he’d been teasing me off and on about dating Bruiser.

“The MOC’s hot-chick Enforcer has a boooyfriend,” Alex said.

Eli chuckled, the sound evil. They knew I’d turned down multiple requests from the media—local and regional—for interviews about my relationship with the vamps and their humans. But this time, I might need the media to help keep the public hysteria down. I remembered the scent-feeling-taste of riot-worthy fear hanging in the air outside the kill bar.

One thought on “Faith Hunter’s ninth Jane Yellowrock novel DARK HEIR

Comments are closed.