Sofia Grey, A #guestpost about her favorite scene in Isabella’s Airman…. #giveaway

You can’t keep a good man down

AKA – my favourite scene from ISABELLA’S AIRMAN

IA_01

Four years ago, when I first came up with the concept of my Out of Time series, I wrote a novella draft that eventually turned into Isabella’s Airman. I wasn’t happy with it though. I didn’t like the ending, and I couldn’t figure out how to fix it. I ended up putting it to one side, and writing the next in the series, Lila’s Wolf. This story flowed much easier, and I decided to change the order and make this one first in the series.

I still had to fix Isabella though, and I went back to have another look at her story, to see if I could figure out what it needed. And now, having wrapped up Lila’s story, the revision was clear. It needed another POV. Another character. In Lila’s Wolf, I introduced a soldier – a ghardian – who had a rough time, and was in need of some TLC. He was perfect to bring into Isabella’s story, and once I gave him room inside my head, he demanded his story be told. Characters do that sometimes, and when they’re willing to talk, as a writer you just try and catch everything they tell you, and then squish it into shape later. I sometimes wonder if this is how psychics work?

I’m digressing. For me, the story took off when Marc had his say. It’s still Isabella’s story, and he only plays a small role, but it’s pivotal. He makes things happen – but, he first has to be convinced.

In my world, the ghardians are the protectors of the timelines, elite soldiers that hunt time-runaways and bring them back to face justice. They are hardened warriors, trained from a young age to suppress their emotions. It would take compelling evidence for Marc to even consider breaking the rules, and I took great delight in making him think hard, and having to question his beliefs. He was suspicious, of course.

21375442_s - Marc

This is how Isabella describes Marc to her best friend:

“Juliet, he’s easily ten years older than us. And if you thought the sentinel was stern, he’s a fluffy bunny compared to the ghardians. I’ve never seen Marc smile. Not once. He scares me with his intensity.”

And this is how I convinced him to do what he needed to. He finds a pair of photographs in his personal book collection, ones that really shouldn’t be there.

~

I tried to focus on the details. The joyful smile that lit up her face. If love truly existed, it was here in this photograph.

When had I removed these from the archive? Not only that, but laid a false trail to another collection, and then removed them and hidden them in my own book. What the fuck was going on? I hadn’t done any of this.

I lifted my glass, only to find it was already empty. Think logically, Marc.

There were a limited number of options to explain this disturbing sequence of events. Either I had some serious issue with my memory and I’d forgotten these actions, or someone else had forged my authentication and then broken into my apartment and hidden the artifact. Both were extremely unlikely.

The final option was the most unpalatable. It was me, but I hadn’t done it yet.

~

Eh, I love messing with my characters’ heads.

Giveaway

So tell me. What’s your favourite time travel story / movie / TV series? I’ll give away an ecopy of Lila’s Wolf and some swag to one lucky commenter.

Isabellas_Airman-Sofia_Grey-500x800Blurb:

Time travel student Isabella Gillman is about to embark on her most challenging assignment–leaping back to 1941 to observe World War II. The rules are simple: don’t get emotionally involved, and don’t interfere.

She breaks the first rule when she falls in love with rear-gunner Davy Porteous. The second is on its way out as well, when she realizes history says he won’t survive the war. Torn between the fundamental laws of her society, and the man she loves, Isabella faces a harsh reality: does she risk both their lives for a future that may not happen?

She can’t predict the results if she corrupts the timelines, but without her actions, Davy is out of time.

Trailer link:   https://youtu.be/81eQC1WmBks

Book links: Amazon | Goodreads

Author links: www.SofiaGrey.com

Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter | Amazon

 

Sofia GreyAuthor bio:

Romance author Sofia Grey spends her days managing projects in the corporate world and her nights hanging out with wolf shifters and alpha males. She devours pretty much anything in the fiction line, but she prefers her romances to be hot, and her heroes to have hidden depths. When writing, she enjoys peeling back the layers to expose her characters’ flaws and always makes them work hard for their happy endings.

Music is interwoven so tightly into my writing that I can’t untangle the two. Either I’m listening to a playlist on my iPod, have music seeping from my laptop speakers, or there’s a song playing in my head – sometimes on auto-repeat.

 

Check out my playlists on Pinterest and Spotify

 

To celebrate the release, the first in series (Lila’s Wolf) will be discounted to 99c, from 1 – 7 June.

Blurb:

When Lila Cammell is abandoned by her time-jump partner, leaving her alone in Britain in the Dark Ages, revenge is the only thing on her mind. She’d trusted Jared Grohl with her life and her heart, and bringing him to justice will be sweet.

Finding him captured and enslaved by the Saxons changes all her assumptions. Now it’s a fight for survival, but the only way to save him, might be to leave him behind.

Amazon link: LINK

One thought on “Sofia Grey, A #guestpost about her favorite scene in Isabella’s Airman…. #giveaway

Comments are closed.