His Temporary Fix by Sofia Grey (A Promo/Guest Post & #giveaway)

 

HTF header with cover

~

HIS_TEMPORARY_FIX_500x700 (1)Book title: His Temporary Fix (a Love at the Beach novella)

Author: Sofia Grey

Release date: 26 October 2015

Publisher: Entangled Select

Genre: Contemp military romance

Tagline: One night is all it takes

~

Blurb:

Holly Jacobs loses her heart a little too easily. Never again. But when she meets the sexy soldier on the beach, Holly knows she’s in big trouble. Zack Winter is gorgeous and in pain, and when he kisses Holly, all of her resolve melts away…
Zack is on short-term leave to attend a funeral, and he’s walking a fine line. The loss is unbearable…and he’ll do whatever it takes to distract himself from it. Especially if it means a night of searingly-hot sex with Holly Jacobs. Only his brilliant idea isn’t exactly going according to plan.
One night isn’t nearly enough. But if it goes much longer it might end in broken hearts…

teaser 4

A Guest Post from Sofia Grey

Where did that come from…?

I’m something of a magpie with my stories, taking ideas and inspiration from everything around me. A headline in the news. An overheard conversation on the train. A lyric in a song – anything and everything is fair game to be recycled in a book.

A scene in my new release, His Temporary Fix, was inspired by an event one sunny afternoon at the shopping mall. I’d found a space on the busy car park and darted into the mall for something. Coming back to my car, I realised the small car next to me had a large dog in it – and he was not happy. There was no open window, or sunroof, and the poor guy had to be melting. I waited a couple of minutes to see if anyone appeared, and then I tried the doors to see if they were locked. Yes.

I couldn’t leave him there. I ran into the mall and asked Customer Services to make an announcement about the car. They did, but nobody appeared. Next on my list was the local animal charity and I was googling their phone number when the owner finally arrived, laden down with shopping bags.

I was so relieved, and so angry, that I let rip with all guns blazing. I surprised myself! She was embarrassed, and angry at me, but she let the dog out for a minute before loading up her bags and driving away with him.

Anyway, this scene was perfect to be recreated in His Temporary Fix, with my heroine, Holly, doing the rescuing.

I enjoyed writing that scene

*

Excerpt

The dog’s owner might be in the funeral party. Shit. Should I barge into the chapel and demand the owner come outside? Wait until they came out? The poor dog gave a weak bark and lifted a paw to the window. He looked as though he was begging for my help.

I ran to the chapel doors. I knew from summers of volunteering with the local animal charities that a dog could dehydrate and suffer potentially fatal heatstroke in less than twenty minutes. My hand was on the door to the chapel when I heard footsteps and muted voices. The service had finished. I stepped back, bouncing on my toes as I waited for everyone to come out.

It felt like half the town’s population had attended, and the carpark was soon full of people talking in low voices, girls crying, and young men looking subdued. Nobody made a move toward the cars on the street. If I didn’t hurry the dog might die. I stepped up to the nearest group of mourners. “Excuse me. Do you know who owns the little red Suzuki? On the street?”

There was a puzzled silence during which they all stared at me. I pointed at the car. “There’s a dog trapped in there.”

“No.” One of the girls spoke. She looked shocked. “It’s not ours.”

Urgency made me rude. I gave a curt nod and moved to the next group. If I didn’t find the owner soon, I’d smash the window.

Another cluster of people stepped out into the sunlight, and I turned to them, my words dying in my throat. It was Zack. Back straight and shoulders squared, he wore a smart uniform and looked breathtakingly handsome among all the plain dark outfits. My heart skipped a beat, and I struggled to find my voice. What had I been doing? Rescuing the dog. Zack stood next to a tall, willowy woman. Model thin, she had the same dark eyes and hair and could have been anywhere between thirty and fifty. She had to be his mother.

“Holly?” Zack’s brows drew together, confusion in his eyes, but before I could answer he wrapped his arms around me. He pressed his lips close to my ear. “Thank you. I can’t wait to get the fuck away from here.”

I pulled back, noting the simmering tension on his face. Thin, tight lips signaled he was angry or upset, but I didn’t have time to spare. “I need your help. Right now.”

Whether he recognized the urgency in my voice, or whether it was his military training kicking in, I didn’t know, but the anger cleared from his face, and he nodded. “Go on.”

“There’s a dog locked in a car on the street. He’s been there way too long, there’s no window open, and I’m scared he’s going to die from the heat. I can’t find the owner.” My words came out in a garbled rush, and I realized I clung to his hand while I spoke. I took a quick breath and tried to speak more clearly. “Can you please help me?”

He nodded. “Yeah. Which car?”

“The red Suzuki.” I pointed again, and he scanned the row of vehicles.

“Hey, everyone.” His yell made my ears ring but the buzz of conversation stopped dead. “Who owns the red Suzuki?”

Silence.

His fingers meshed with mine, and he squeezed them. Such a small gesture, but it reassured me. We’d fix this. “Someone owns the red Suzuki, and they’ve locked a dog in it. Who. Owns. The. Fucking. Car?”

Somebody cleared her throat behind him. “It’s my rental car,” said the woman who might be his mother. “Steph put her dog in there while she went to get some flowers.”

“Give me the keys,” said Zack, his voice hard and uncompromising.

“Zachary, don’t take that tone with me.” Yep, that had to be his mother. I decided then that I disliked her. “Here.” She held out a leather key fob with two keys and a remote alarm.

I snatched the fob from her fingers, then turned and ran to the street, pressing the alarm button as I went. Zack raced beside me. The door locks clicked, and I ripped the passenger door open. A wall of heat smacked me in the face, stealing my breath. I dropped to a crouch and reached inside, but Zack beat me to it. He scooped up the dog in his arms and hauled it out, carrying it back to the carpark and the only patch of shade in sight.

“Somebody get me some water,” he yelled and lay the limp animal on the cool ground. It was a large mutt with long, thick fur. The poor thing lay panting, ignoring us. One of the girls I’d spoken to earlier pushed through the gawping crowd and handed over a half liter bottle of water. Zack trickled it over the dog’s head, dripping some into its mouth. “Come on, boy,” he murmured. “For Christ’s sake, don’t give up on me now.”

More water appeared, and Zack used it to wet the thick fur, to try and cool him rapidly. It worked. The dog’s eyes sharpened, and he lifted his head, nosing at us both. I crouched beside him and cupped my hands together. “Pour some here.” With my hands as a makeshift drinking bowl, the dog lapped up some water and moments later scrambled to his feet.

I sank to the ground, my knees shaking from the emotion, and gave Zack a tremulous smile. “Thank you,” I whispered.

“What’s going on?” A shrill voice rang out somewhere behind me. “What are you doing to my dog?”

A fresh surge of adrenaline flooded my body. I touched Zack’s arm. “I’m sorry, but this is about to get ugly.”

teaser 6

Trailer link:   https://youtu.be/8zdmj4Xf_zg

Book links: Amazon | Goodreads

teaser 7
Sofia GreyAuthor links:  http://www.SofiaGrey.com

Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter | Amazon

Author bio:

Romance author Sofia Grey spends her days managing projects in the corporate world and her nights hanging out with wolf shifters and alpha males. She devours pretty much anything in the fiction line, but she prefers her romances to be hot, and her heroes to have hidden depths. When writing, she enjoys peeling back the layers to expose her characters’ flaws and always makes them work hard for their happy endings.

Music is interwoven so tightly into my writing that I can’t untangle the two. Either I’m listening to a playlist on my iPod, have music seeping from my laptop speakers, or there’s a song playing in my head – sometimes on auto-repeat.

Check out the playlist for His Temporary Fix on Spotify: http://bit.ly/1PxDl8w

Read the first chapter here: http://www.entangledpublishing.com/his-temporary-fix/

What reviewers are saying about His Temporary Fix:

“One sentence in and these characters drew me into their world, and had me hanging on every word. Their touching story captured my heart.” – Misty
“This was a very enjoyable quick read. ”  – Betty
“I do love reading novella’s for a quick fix, a quick pick-me-up, in between long novels. When they can pack emotion, connection with the characters, a great plot and storyline into less than 120 pages, well, that leaves me very satisfied and wanting to read more by the author. His Temporary Fix gave me all that and then some. ”   – Lee

GIVEAWAY
For a chance to win any ebook from Sofia’s backlist AND a swag bundle, leave your details in this Google form. One name will be drawn on the 31st October, and yes, she will send swag worldwide 🙂
2 thoughts on “His Temporary Fix by Sofia Grey (A Promo/Guest Post & #giveaway)

Comments are closed.