Elle Boon… (Holidays with the Authors, A Double Special Guest Post)

Holiday Story
Every year my family and I go to Northern Minnesota for the Holidays. My hubby’s
family is Norwegian and I swear their bones are insulated. The first time they took me “Ice
Fishing” they said: It’ll be fun. It’ll be warm, they said.
I of course, in all my love for my family and Christmas, nodded and put my big girl, well
I would say panties, but it was more like long underwear, followed by cuddle duds, followed by Under Armour etc. We travelled up to Lake of The Woods, and loaded into SUV’s that then drove us over the lakes, that were frozen over. I thought I was in the Twilight Zone. I sat in the middle row of the vehicle, with my eyes closed and prayed. By the time we came to a rumbling stop, okay, it was a new vehicle so there was no rumbling, but it still was scary as sheot, it was
My in-laws had rented 4 cabins on the ice, which were situated about fifty feet apart. My
mother-in-law, my Goob and I were in one, while the others in our caravan went into the others.
We had walkie talkies, because of course, cellphones didn’t have service waaaay the eff up there.
Surprisingly, the cabins were warm, and our guides had already drilled holes for us to fish in. We had the deluxe cabins with a bathroom on the side and beds even woop. Now, fast forward to an hour, and my Goob has decided he wants to go to the cabin his grandpa is in. So I had to don the layers of clothing that I’d taken off. We open the door, and BOOM… Have you ever heard ice crack? It sounds like a shotgun going off. Yes, I’m a redneck so I’ve heard the sound of shotguns a time or two. I grab my baby, and cover him with my pillowy body, searching for my walkie talkie: “Help, someone is shooting at us.” I scream through the walkie thingy once I am able to rip the huge gloves off my fingers.
I hear laughter as static fills the quiet air, and then. “That was just the ice shifting. It’s normal.” I roll around, trying to get back to my feet as my hand has become numb, and I’m sure I’m probably going to get frostbite on my fingers.
My Goob is up and trying to help me, we slip and slide, looking like two beached whales,
or at least I do. Finally I get up, and we begin our trek to the cabin. I see it. I’m elated. My body has gone numb, so I’m no longer freezing. Woohoo, or is that bad I thing, but I don’t want to scare my Goob who is telling me how there might be whales under us, like Orka waiting to break through and eat us. Have I told you I’m scared of open water? Yeah, I am. So we make it to the cabin to find all my family laughing hysterically. My father-in-law says: “We thought the Abominable Snowman was coming to get us.”
My Goob then says: “Mommy fell down and couldn’t get up.” And the laughing started all over again. I stayed long enough to get warm, then I wobbled back to my own cabin with my mother-in-law where I caught the largest fish of the day. Winning.
Y’all, Ice Fishing is not for a Southern Gal. We don’t have insulated bones. Give me a little snow, maybe forty degree weather and I call that a cold winter. However, because I’m a good wife I go up there to the Tundra, aka Northern Minnesota every year and have a fabulous time, enjoy the white Christmas, from inside the warmth of inside.

My Favorite Holiday Tradition

 If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, then you’ve probably seen some of my posts, or pictures of my “Santa” collection. I have been collecting the little, or in some cases, big guy for about twenty years, give or take a few. I love him in all his shapes and sizes. I have Santas from 6” to 5’ tall in porcelain, resin, wooden…. You get the idea ❤ LOVE SANTAS sooo hard ❤

Yes, some say it is an addiction, and I say “Leave My Santa’s Alone” hehehe. My family encourages my love of the big red, or multi colored guy. Every year I get one or three new ones. My tree has ornaments, and I have enough Santa’s, that they are EVERYWHERE in my house. My living room has him, my dining room, my kitchen, my office… you get the idea. I don’t believe I can have too many, and I don’t need therapy “squinty eyes”. LOL.

However, that is not the only holiday tradition that me and my family do. We also decorate the outside like the Gingerbread house lol. Okay, there are many other less decoraty things. I believe in giving, and all through the year I donate to charities, but just before it gets cold my two children and I donate winter coats to the YWCA. That is a very important tradition I will always do, no matter what, and hope my children and their children will as well.

Another tradition we do is go see the Christmas lights at Krug Park. Here in my town this is an old mansion that sits on acres of land that is now owned by the city. They decorate the entire property in different scenes and lots of lights and such. It’s gorgeous and at the end of the tour, you get a Cherry Mash, which is a candy bar that is also made here in my hometown. Soo effing good ❤

I will always say Merry Christmas, because that is my tradition. I love it. I love all things Christamsy. I hope y’all have a Very Merry Christmas. Please Follow me on my social media links, and stay tuned because I, along with my BFF are doing a 12 Days of Christmas giveaway. We will be giving away sooo much.

Love Y’all Sooo Hard,

Elle Boon

ElleAbout Elle Boon

 Elle Boon lives in Middle-Merica as she likes to say…with her husband, two kids, and a black lab who is more like a small pony. She’d never planned to be a writer, but when life threw her a curve, she swerved with it, since she’s athletically challenged. She’s known for saying “Bless Your Heart” and dropping lots of F-bombs, but she loves where this new journey has taken her.

She writes what she loves to read, and that is romance, whether it’s erotic or paranormal, as long as there is a happily ever after. Her biggest hope is that after readers have read one of her stories, they fall in love with her characters as much as she did. She loves creating new worlds, and has more stories just waiting to be written. Elle believes in happily ever afters, and can guarantee you will always get one with her stories.

Connect with Elle online, she loves to hear from you:

 www.elleboon.com

 https://www.facebook.com/elle.boon

 https://www.facebook.com/pages/Elle-Boon-Author/1429718517289545

https://twitter.com/ElleBoon1

http://www.amazon.com/Elle-Boon/e/B00K03HY42/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1415849092&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1405756769719931/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/wewroteyourbookboyfriends/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8120085.Elle_Boon

http://www.elleboon.com/newsletter

 

Author’s Note

I’m often asked by wonderful readers how they could help get the word out about the book they enjoyed. There are many ways to help out your favorite author, but one of the best is by leaving an honest review. Another great way is spread the word by recommending the books you love, because stories are meant to be shared. Thank you so very much for reading this book and supporting all authors. If you’d like to find out more about Elle’s books, visit her website, or follow her on FaceBook, Twitter and other social media sites.

Books by Elle Boon

 Erotic Ménage

Ravens of War

Selena’s Men

Two For Tamara

Jaklyn’s Saviors

Kira’s Warriors

Akra’s Demon’s, Coming Soon

 Shifters Romance

Mystic Wolves

Accidentally Wolf

His Perfect Wolf

Wild Wolf, Coming 2015

Paranormal Romance

SmokeJumpers

FireStarter

Berserker’s Rage

A SmokeJumpers Christmas

Mind Bender, Coming Spring 2016

 MC Shifters Erotic

Iron Wolves MC

Lyric’s Accidental Mate October 20th, 2015

Xan’s Fiesty Mate Coming Soon

Contemporary Romance

 Miami Nights

Miami Inferno

Miami Blaze, Coming Summer 2016

Christmas 1 

2 thoughts on “Elle Boon… (Holidays with the Authors, A Double Special Guest Post)

  1. Thank you sooo very much for having me. I really enjoyed sharing the story from my Ice Fishing experience lol. Yes, I’ve been back, and I haven’t had the same…errr, well fall lol. I still don’t have insulated bones, though ❤

    Happy Holidays,
    Elle

Comments are closed.