Vella Day, Something funny that happened one holiday… (Holiday with the Authors)

For as long as I could remember, our family has provided a detailed Christmas list to the other family members, and for the most part, we didn’t deviate. That meant, you usually received exactly what you asked for. When I was in my twenties, my parents went even further. They purchase their own presents (like golf shoes, dresses, etc) because one had to try on the item. They were leave the purchase item in plain sight for the spouse to wrap.

One Christmas, my father has bought a pair of men’s golf shoes for my mother to give to him at Christmas and he placed it on her bed. Also on her bed was one of her very old skirts with a big stain on it that she planned to take to the cleaners that afternoon. Apparently, she was in the shower when father Christmas delivered his shoes. Thinking this skirt (that she must have worn a 100 times–I even remember its bold green color) was for him to give to her, he picked it up.

I will never forget the look on my mom’s face at HER Christmas present.

Mother: This is my skirt.
Father(looking around sheepishly as if a secret was about to be shared): I know. It’s what you wanted.
Mother: No. This is MY skirt. I’ve worn it for years.  (She held it up and pointed to the stain).

I’m not sure if they ever purchased their own gifts again.

About the Author:

Not only do I love to read, write, and dream, I’m an extrovert. I enjoy being around people and am always trying to understand what makes them tick. My books must have a happily ever after,  and I need characters I can relate to. My men are wonderful, dynamic, smart, strong, and the best lovers in the world (of course).

You’ll find me most days on my chaise lounge with my laptop and my iced tea(unsweetened!) on the side table. I love to sleep in late and write into the wee hours. I also love FB, so you’ll find me on there, too!

I believe I am the luckiest woman. I do what I love and I have a wonderful, supportive husband, who happens to be hot!

In case you didn’t know, I also write as Melody Snow Monroe (www.melodymonroe.com)–erotic romance for Siren Publishing.

http://www.velladay.com

11219620_1210532635627398_4190008679472998715_n

 

