Lynn Burke’s Favorite Holiday Recipes (A Holidays with the Authors Special Guest Post)

Happy Holidays!!!
I could spend ALL day in the kitchen – I know, there’s something wrong with me. *wink* So, when the holidays hover, and I’m expecting a ton of family to fill my house, I get way too excited over menus, my grocery list, and table settings. I’ve had a folder with recipes, decorating ideas, and all those good things sitting on my kitchen counter for the last three weeks. Can we say, obsess much? LOL!
And, as Christmas draws near and I’m cooking like a mad woman, I pop Handel’s Messiah into the CD player. Strange, I know, but it’s a family tradition dating back to when my Mom-Mom came up from Florida to Pennsylvania for a week-long visit, and my mother’s FIVE sisters came in from across the country to celebrate together. All thirty-something of us jammed into the farm house I grew up in for five days. Needless to say, there was a LOT of cooking and baking going on.
My mother continued the tradition of listening to the Messiah while hanging in the kitchen during the holidays, and I’ve taken it up as well with my own daughters. Time has passed, and my Mom-Mom is now watching from heaven. Tears always well as the Overture begins, and I bask in the memories of days past.
Anyhoo.
Here’s two of my must-have / go-to recipes – Fireside Punch and Dried Beef Cheeseball. I hope you’ll whip them up and enjoy them as much as I do this time every year!
Fireside Punch:
2 ½. Cranberry juice
2 c. Pineapple juice (unsweetened)
2c. Water
3/4c. Brown Sugar
2 Cinnamon sticks
2 Tbl. Whole Cloves
Directions: Simmer all together until desired taste. Serves 8.
Dried Beef Cheese Ball:
3 – 4oz. pks Dried beef – broken up
3 – 8oz. Cream Cheese, softened
1 smal onion, chopped
2 Tbl. Worcestershire sauce
1 Tb. Acccent season salt
Directions: Mix all together until well blended. Roll into a ball. Chill and serve with crackers. (I use my stand mixer since this is tough to mix by hand.)
Two sure winners in my opinion! Do you have any favorite recipes to share? I’m always looking for new things to add to my list.
I hope you all enjoy the holiday season!
5923708About the Author

Lynn Burke is a full time mother, voracious gardener, and scribbler of spicy romance stories. A country bumpkin turned Bay Stater, she enjoys her chowdah and Dunkin Donuts when not trying to escape the reality of city life.

Her current work, the Risso Familly Novellas, revolves around four siblings from Boston’s North End.

Find Lynn on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Amazon, and Goodreads.

Christmas 1
2 thoughts on “Lynn Burke’s Favorite Holiday Recipes (A Holidays with the Authors Special Guest Post)

Comments are closed.