Liza O’Connor, what readers can expect in 2016 (A Special January Author Guest Post)

Liza O’Connor shares What’s a Head.
A head is a semi-functional, roundish object that sits on my shoulders. It used to be very functional, but my constant publishing has caused it to become confused.
Last year I published eight books, and honestly it nearly killed me, so this year I decide I needed to cut back and only do nine books.
That’s not a misprint. My head is either demented or it read a book on new math and is now perpetually confused. It could be the latter, because I often make fun of ‘new math’ in my stories, which probably means I read up on the topic somewhere along the way. (I love to research stuff for my books.)
To make matters worse, when I list the books I want to publish this year, there are thirteen of them. But let me be clear. I am not publishing thirteen books. I know for a fact if I publish more than five books in a monthly row, the round globe on my shoulders bounces to the floor and breaks. So I made two rules this year.
No more than four books can be published 1 per month. Then I need a break.
No publishing in November or December.
Those rules result in a schedule that looks like this: 4 books, rest, 3 books, rest, 2 books, rest, rest. This provides the delusion I’m getting easier on myself through the year. Will this actually work? I don’t know. What I do know is that trying to do three then resting two months then five books in a monthly row broke me last year.
Yes, this might be another ‘see how many stupid ways I can break my head’ event.
However, to start the year out, 12 of the books have been written and proofed about twenty times by me. That is the equivalent of having three chimps work on my books—since I am a terrible self-proofer. Three of the books have been edited by professionals and are ready to go. Other books are with editors, waiting patiently in cue for attention. Others are regularly crashing my laptop as I use Grammarly to assist me in self-proofing.  I also have Robot David who reads aloud to me. He’s very good at catching missing words and sentences that make no freaking sense.
So I’m good for the first four months (assuming one of the books with the editor is returned in January or February) and then I’ll have my month of rest. 5 months down!
Whew….
So now I just have to pick three books of the potential seven other books, get them edited (some are already with editors waiting in line) and some are with me. Those that don’t make this year, will hopefully show up next year, if I’m still alive. (Death from exhaustion is a real possibility.)
For those curious as to how I can write so many books: I did nothing but write novels for ten years, then one day I realized I had over a hundred novels (Not all worthy of publication) and it was really time to stop having so much fun and publish some. While publishing is not nearly as fun as writing, I do love when readers declare they adore my books. One positive review is worth months of hard work publishing.
And here are the pictures of the 13 books that are contenders to be published in 2016.  Feel free to provide me your opinions. I truly appreciate them.
These books will definitely be published in 2016 (unless Liza dies)2016 BOOKS
Three of these will be also be published this year. Which looks most interesting to you?
Other potential 2016 publications
As I write this, I have published eighteen books in three genres, but here are my five favorites:
Contemporaries:
Ghost Lover—Two British brothers fall in love with the same young woman. Ancestral ghost is called in to fix the situation. And there’s a ghost cat that roams about the book as well. (Humorous Contemporary Romance)
Saving Casey— Cass wakes up in the body of a troubled teen who has burned every bridge imaginable. Her only choice is to turn this life around, but that’s much harder than she ever imagined. (1st half humorous, 2nd half traumatic.)
Worst Week Ever — Laugh out loud week of disasters of Epic proportions. (80% of readers think its hysterical.)
Historical:
The Missing Partner — Opps! The greatest sleuth in Victorian England goes missing, leaving Vic to rescue him, a suffragette, and about 100 servants. Not to mention an eviscerating cat. Yes, let’s not mention the cat.
Sci-Fi:
Surviving Sojourn: Sojourn believes deep down that he’s meant to be a great leader. Only his current captain keeps treating him like he was born a year ago, which, while technically true, is most unfair!

 

3 thoughts on “Liza O’Connor, what readers can expect in 2016 (A Special January Author Guest Post)

  1. Thanks for having me over. Love the large site! Ask me any questions and if I know the the answer, I’ll reply. Oh and compliments are always appreciated too. But be warned, I take my humor seriously, for laughter makes us live longer, which is my only proof I’m not trying to kill myself. Thanks for having me over Becky!

  2. Liza’s books are so wonderful that we are forcing her to slowly go crazy by publishing so much. I vote for more of the Sci-Fi series and more from Vic’s stories. 🙂

Comments are closed.