Peggy Rothchild (A New Years Special Guest Post with the Authors)

I’ve never been a big on making New Year’s resolutions. I think the last time I made one was in my early-twenties. That particular year I, along with a group of four friends, made a resolution to stop smoking. And, every single one us had smoked a cigarette before the end of January 1st. (Though we did all subsequently quit, a group resolution wasn’t the way to do it.)

PUNISHMENTSUMMER-evernightpublishing-Jayaheer2015-smallpreviewreduced2015 was an amazing year of new experiences for me. In the spring, my yard was included in a fundraising garden tour and we had 600+ people troupe through our home and garden. (I think I spoke with at least 500 of them!)  In the summer, Evernight Teen selected my contemporary young adult novel, PUNISHMENT SUMMER, for publication and the book came out this past fall. And, in the winter, the wonderful Melissa Jeglinski, of The Knight Agency, became my agent.

Familiarity is a wonderful thing, but last year highlighted the importance of embracing the new as well. With that in mind, I did make a resolution for 2016 – the first I’ve made in years. It’s nothing specific – no “I’ll read a book a week in 2016” or “I’ll take a new class”. Mine’s the more general vow to challenge my comfort zones – emotional, mental and physical.

Like a lot of writers, I tend toward introversion and can happily spend hours (OK, even days) on my own. This year I’m going to do my best to step outside my comfort zone more often. Be bolder, more social, try new things, go new places. It promises to be a wonderful adventure.

 

Bio:

Peggy Rothschild grew up in Los Angeles. Always a mystery-lover, she embraced the tales of Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys before graduating to the adult section of the library. An English major in high school, she switched to art her – other passion – in college. Peggy has authored two adult mysteries, CLEMENTINE’S SHADOW and ERASING RAMONA. PUNISHMENT SUMMER is her first young adult book.

 

At present, Peggy lives in the beach community of Ventura with her husband and their cats. In her spare time she focuses on transforming their yard into a drought-tolerant paradise and creating art pieces.

Links:

Punishment Summer – http://amzn.to/1VIgnLu

Author Website – www.peggyrothschild.net

Author’s twitter: @pegrothschild

Author’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peggyrothschildauthor

Author’s Amazon page: amazon.com/author/peggyrothschild

