An Irish Recipe from Kacey Hammell

irish2St. Patrick’s Day Homecooking with Kacey Hammell
As many know, I’m a crazy and sometimes raging lunatic of a redhead with a hot temper but a gentle, caring soul. Or so I’m told. Although, some say “gingers” have no souls/only black souls. Hahaha. I take pride in the fun and naughtiness – read that as things I can get away with – as a redhead. LOL
There is one thing to be sure of though, with me, every year St. Patrick’s Day is always a celebration of culture and remembering those in my family who are no longer with us. And every year, I like to cook an old recipe of Shepherd’s Pie, which I do also make often through the year, and fills the bellies of my hungry crew and makes me smile when they moan and groan to their hearts’ content. I make my own adjustments to the ingredients to suit my whims and that of my brood.
Ingredients
• 1 tablespoon olive oil
• 1 teaspoon black pepper
• 1 lb ground beef or 1 lb lamb
• 1 large onion, finely diced
• 3 -4 large carrots, finely diced (optional)
• 1 cup frozen corn
• 3 -4 sprigs fresh thyme, finely chopped
• 1 tablespoon butter
• 1 large quantity mashed potatoes (estimating 1L or 6 cups, fresh or leftover)
• grated parmesan cheese (optional)
• gravy mix – usually from bulk barn with directions, making about 3 cups does the trick
Directions
1. Pre-heat oven to 200C/400°F.
2. Saute carrots in the olive oil until starting to get tender.
3. Add in the onions and saute for a minute or two then add the meat.
4. Season with black pepper and thyme.
5. Cook until browned then drain fat.
6. Add the butter and corn.
7. Remove from heat. Grease an oven proof dish or tin pan with butter.
8. Spoon or pipe the mashed potatoes over top. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese if using.
9. Bake for about 20 minutes or until the potato is nice and browned on top.
10. Serve as is or with some crusty bread to mop up that yummy sauce.
This fave supper of my family warms our souls and brings us together to share in a lot of fun and laughter. I do plan to amend the recipe soon with only using mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes.
I will have to let you know how it turns out!!
About Kacey:
KaceyAvid Reader. Romance Author. Redhead…
Canadian-born author Kacey Hammell is definitely a book-a-holic. A romance reader from a young age, she fell in love with happily ever afters.  These days, as a multi- published erotic romance author, she enjoys adding a lot of heat, sass, and emotion to the many genres she writes.
Mom of three, Kacey lives her own happily ever after with her perfect hero in Ontario, Canada.
Connect with Kacey…
Website / Newsletter / Facebook / Facebook Reader Group / Twitter / Amazon / Goodreads / Pinterest / Instagram
irish4
