A Special Guest Post from Jessica Subject

This would make a great series!

Guest post by Sci-Fi Romance Author Jessica E. Subject

I’ve heard this statement many times for some of my stories. And I’ve also had readers simply ask when the next book in the series is coming out. While this does make me happy, because it means the reader has enjoyed my story, it puts me in a bit of a panic mode. With certain stories, I never meant to write any more. That was the case with Made For Her. I ended the story with the hero and heroine on their way into space. It was their happily ever after. But, some readers wanted to know what happened next. I had no idea. I never planned to expand the story. The ending was the ending. When my contract with the publisher ended, I received my rights back, and changed the story a bit. But, I also added a chapter. I wanted to show my readers what did happen next. Did Mikayla and Dare meet the aliens they were set out to find, or did they die in space? I answered that question. And that was the end. While I have more clone stories planned, they will not be related to Made For Her.
JES-Made-For-Her-300x450
Alien Adoration, on the other hand, did become a series called Alien Next Door. Yet, there is a different hero and heroine for each story. I have left it open so that more stories could be added—a different family though—but I’m not at a point to write those. I have many other stories to tell.

Classic outdoor portrait of a great looking shirtless muscular male model against dramatic skyscape in monochrome

When it came to my upcoming series, Galactic Defenders, it was a planned series from the very beginning. Each story is about a different Defender falling in love. But, nothing comes easy for those who dedicate their lives to saving the universe from annihilation by the Erebus. They are trained to fight, but falling in love does not come as naturally, or without obstacles. I had the series tagline, and the outline for the first three stories before I even started writing. Plus, I plan to write more than three. I just wanted three planned out before I began so I knew where I was going with the series.
JES-Bryce-GD-300x450
Here’s the blurb from BRYCE, the first book in the Galactic Defenders series…
A dedicated Defender…
Bryce fell in love once, but after Lalia was ripped away from him, he locked his heart from feeling anything for anyone else. Instead, he devotes his life to the Galactic Alliance, killing every bloodthirsty Erebus he comes across.
A shunned princess…
Lalia Comosova fell in love with the wrong man. When her parents learned of her transgressions, they sent her to Earth to hide her error in judgment from the rest of the kingdom.
A second chance?
When these lovers are reunited after many years apart, they have a chance to find happiness together. But fate steps in and threatens to rip them apart as it did years ago.
Tell me, do you look for series when choosing your next read? Do you prefer single titles? Or, will you read both?

About the Author:
Jessica E. Subject is the author of science fiction romance, mostly alien romances, ranging from sweet to super hot. Sometimes she dabbles in paranormal and contemporary as well, bringing to life a wide variety of characters. In her stories, you could not only meet a sexy alien or two, but also clones and androids. You may be transported to a dystopian world where rebels are fighting to live and love, or to another planet for a romantic rendezvous.
When Jessica is not reading, writing, or doing dreaded housework, she likes to get out and walk with her giant, hairy dog her family adopted from the local animal shelter.
Jessica lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and two energetic children. And she loves to hear from her readers. You can find her at jessicasubject.com and on twitter @jsubject.
Website/Blog | Newsletter | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram
Goodreads | Amazon | Authorgraph

One thought on “A Special Guest Post from Jessica Subject

Comments are closed.